#176 china gymnasts falsify age?

I heard on BBC that China’s gymnasts who won gold were under age. Was there deliberate oversight in submitting the age on their part?

There is always confusion for those outside of China to know the age of the China Chinese.

Even for one who is born in Singapore, growing up, I was always confused about my age until I applied for my national identity card when I was twelve.

If you asked me what year my parents were born or their birthday, I couldn’t tell you. You see the Chinese go by their Chinese calendar year.

I was befuddled with the age of some of my China-born friends living in China or those who never went abroad. Many of them don’t give you the actual date of their birthday…so when celebrating their birthdays, the day changes with our calendar year. This is NOT INCONSISTENT as the Chinese go by their Chinese calendar year. For unknown reason, the Chinese always add 2 years to the day they were born.

Is this being dishonest? A lie? A stripping of the medals?

Surely not…when this is cultural difference in interpreting age or the day they were born.

Leave a Reply

