#120 a teen-survivor’s courage

I want to record this one of many human stories…the Sichuan earthquake has seen survivors young and old saved from rubbles from several to hundreds of hours after the quake struck; in one case, water fed with love by one’s spouse.

Xue Xiao, the 17-year-old, was saved after he survived 80 hours in the rubble — his parents were crushed emotionally. His right arm was crushed and amputated yet he hopes to fulfill his dream one day…

…when Xue called out to his rescuers Zhang and He: “Uncle, I want to have a cola, I want an iced one”, he was speaking the language of the new generation, a generation that has grown up on junk food and aerated drinks.

The Cola Boy’s passion for life is exemplary. The words he used to console his mother leave a lump in the  (blogger’s) throat. “Mother, don’t be sad. I knew I would lose my right hand if I were saved.” If this is not the triumph of the human spirit, what is? Xue knows that thanking Zhang and He for saving him is tantamount to belittling their effort. That’s why he told his mother when she asked him to thank his saviors: “No need to say thanks between friends.” Here is a 17-year-old showing the maturity of a wise man. And the fighter in him spoke when he said: “And I will learn to use my left hand to continue with life. I love math. I want to be a scientist.” (quoted from columnist Op Rana in ChinaDaily)

I hope the leaders in the provinces and counties take care of those who they are called to govern and not corrupt the system and callously interpret policies set by the Central Committee. I hope these leaders will not go out of their way to prove they are capable at their jobs at the expense of the poor and helpless.

The world criticise the President and Premier and leaders of a country but the truth is those down the line are the ones who created many ills in a country.

I wish those leaders in the West will not make callous and uncalled for remarks and allegations listening to one side of biased persons or judging a situation through their tinted glasses!

I can understand if parents protest against those government civil leaders…they reap that they sow…these leaders will be judged accordingly.

I hope the forthcoming days will find more graciousness on the lips of leaders around the world.

Leave a Reply

