#86 no water

This happened last evening.

My sister exclaimed, “Look, the color of water is rusty!”

I had just started the washing machine. I hear the sound of water pressure lower. I note the water flow was lower and smaller. Am I imagining?

Just as I was about to conclude, my sister cried, “No water running from the tap!”

I called SP around 7.30pm to find the person answering the line an outsourced receptionist attending to my query on the water problem.

The girl said, “We’ve received calls earlier.”

“When?”

“Around 7 o’clock.”

I asked, “Why were we not informed?”

“Sorry, we’re from the outsourced company attending to calls.”

I fumed. These days when management streamlined and outsourced the relevant departments, they were thinking of themselves — how to cut cost on staffing to reduce department expenditures.

In this case, I was in no position to air my grievances.

I said, “I grew up when there was water rationing, we were told to collect water. Here, we were surprised to find we had no water.”

It was around 10 o’clock? that I find households queueing up the public tap to collect water!

Around 7pm was most critical time of day. Many returned home from work and needing a shower; prepare dinners; etc — using water at the maximum for the day.

The problem: a faulty pump in the watertank that provide us the water.

The excuse: this is an accident. No one can tell.

My question: where is the efficiency of maintenance? Was service and maintenance not included when we paid our bills? Am I expecting too much from the authorities?

Previously when there was water problem, I could call the relevant department and get a response from a supervisor on the job.

These days of outsourcing, those who attend the calls have nothing to do with the department.

Is this what outsourcing and service all about? Is this efficiency for the public? Or is this to benefit those who want to bulge their pockets?

« »

Leave a Reply

